Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

Four Nobel peace prizes

Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, who died in 1896, provided in his will for a fund, the interest of which would be used every year to "reward persons whose activities were of the greatest benefit to humanity".

In 1901, the first Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Henry Dunant, founder of the Red Cross, whose life was devoted mainly to humanitarian cause. Living in poverty in a poorhouse at Heiden (Canton of Appenzell, Switzerland) in 1901, Dunant bequeathed the prize money to charitable causes.

The International Committee of the Red Cross, subsequently, was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1917 and 1944, as tributes to its humanitarian activities during the two World Wars.

In 1963, the ICRC and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies won the prize on the occasion of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement's 100th anniversary.

Letters from other Nobel Prize laureates supporting ICRC's campaign to build up public opinion for a total ban on anti-personnel landmines can be found on the ICRC web site

The 1963 Award Ceremony

Click image for large version



| top |

© 1999 | French (homepage) |
The founders
The Standing Commission
The Standing Commission Chairmen
ICRC Presidents
Intl.Fed. Chairmen
Nobel prize winners